Awards and Events in association withCreative Circle

The Lovie Awards Honours the Best of the European Internet

Associations, Award Shows and Festivals
London, UK
Winners included British actor Ashley Walters, actor and vegan activist Evanna Lynch and Lovie Artist of the Year award went to podcaster, recording artist and spoken-word performer George the Poet
Last night, the 9th Annual Lovie Awards took place at BFI Southbank in London, honouring the best of the European Internet. Winners represent the best creators, publishers, personalities, brands and agencies using the internet to inspire creativity and change in Europe. Acclaimed comedian Ellie Taylor hosted the awards celebration, where she commented on the powers of the internet, the political climate and the overlap between.
Some of the winners included BBC, James O’Brien, Culture Trip, WeTransfer, Zalando, LADbible, and Mozilla, with Denmark’s & Co. named Lovie Agency of the Year, as the advertising agency that performed the best across all Lovie categories this year. 
There were also the Lovie Special Achievement Awards honourees, including actor, producer and star of Netflix’s “Top Boy” Ashley Walters who was presented by French-Algerian film and television director, Yann Demange.
Evanna Lynch, star of the Harry Potter films, was honoured for expertly using the internet as a megaphone to promote environmental health and vegan lifestyles through social media, podcasting and her own vegan beauty subscription business, KinderBeautyBox. Her award was presented by British actor Robbie Jarvis, who appeared with her in the Harry Potter franchise, and co-hosts her podcast, “The Chickpeeps.”
YouTube creator Grace F Victory won the Lovie Creator for Change Award, developed in partnership with YouTube and Google. International writer and performer Deanna Rodger presented the Lovie Artist of the Year award to podcaster, recording artist and spoken-word performer George Mpanga, a.k.a. George the Poet in honour of his podcast, “Have You Heard George’s Podcast?.”
The entrepreneurial team behind Karma, the Swedish startup raising awareness around food waste, received this year’s Lovie Emerging Entrepreneur award. To date, Karma has saved hundreds of tonnes of food, showing people across the world what is possible when the desire to do good for people and the environment is met with the power of the internet.
The 2019 Lovie Be Greater with Data Award was presented by David McCandless, and awarded to Our World in Data’s Max Roser in recognition of its outstanding use of data and the internet to supply the general public with understandable data-driven research. 
<iframe width="620" height="349" src="" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
The ceremony’s finale featured the 2019 Lovie Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Eben Upton. Dr. Sue Black OBE, who received the same esteemed accolade last year, presented the award, honouring Upton for his pioneering work as the creator of Raspberry Pi and co-founder of the Raspberry Pi Foundation. Upton has committed his life and work to ensure that children and educators all over the world have access to computing and digital technologies.
In his remarks during the show, Nicolas Roope, jury chairman and co-founder of The Lovie Awards, said: “Each year it’s such a privilege to chair the Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences jurors, and witness the incredible work being created on this continent. Picking winners becomes more difficult each time, as we find ourselves presented with masterpieces of design and works of ingenuity in abundance.” 
The Lovie Award winners are selected by The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS), which includes over 500 of Europe’s best and brightest leaders in digital, including musician Imogen Heap, actor and writer Stephen Fry, “Father of Wi-Fi” Vic Hayes, Yann LeCun (Vice President and Chief AI Scientist, Facebook), Iain Tait (Executive Creative Director, Wieden + Kennedy London), Corinne Vigreux (Co-Founder, TomTom and Codam College) and Lauren Laverne (Broadcaster). The People’s Lovie Award winners are determined by the public. 
More News from The Lovie Awards
Awards and Events
Lovie Awards Entry Deadline Extended
Awards and Events
LOVIE Award Deadline Approaching Fast
Work from The Lovie Awards