Wake The Town
Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Certain Blacks - Welcome To BraintownEmbed With Credits



Welcome To Braintown.

Over the first weekend of December 2020 performance company Svalbard collaborated with Deadbeat Films to create a stunning site-specific piece onboard the iconic Light Vessel 93, a former Trinity House lighthouse boat moored in Victoria Docks.

Commissioned by Certain Blacks for Join The Docks, Svalbard use their signature blend of live music, contemporary dance / circus, and cinematography to explore the human brain and the architecture of the lightship in this stunning new collaboration.

The event was filmed and live streamed direct from the ship inviting the audience to jump onboard with the artists as they embody the hull, navigate the bridge and digitize performance below deck – bringing this intimate performance right into the heart of people’s homes – a welcoming, shining beacon in these turbulent times.

Creative Director Boris Thomson-Roylance said of the experience:

Immersive live streams are definitely part of the future of live events. At Deadbeat we’ve worked closely with massive innovative events companies like Secret Cinema in the past, as well as created films for all the major festivals in the UK, and our uniquely cinematic approach to event filming really provides the audience with an experience they won’t have had in the past.”

The Arts council understands that live art and the work of live artists must continue to exist as it is a fundamental part of our culture."


Production Service
Music / Sound

Genres: Choreography

Categories: Media and Entertainment

Deadbeat Films, 2 years ago