Wake The Town
Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Viva La Vulva Wins Grand Prix at Kinsale Sharks


AMV BBDO also won Agency of the Year while Chemistry won Irish Agency of the Year

Viva La Vulva Wins Grand Prix at Kinsale Sharks

The 56th Kinsale Shark Awards & Festival was held this weekend, in the picturesque Harbour town of Kinsale, Ireland. 

Winners from the UK, Ireland, USA, France, Belgium, Thailand, Belgium, Canada, Australia, Poland, Hungary, Portugal, Argentina and Germany are now the proud owners of the famous shark head trophy.

The Grand Prix was awarded to AMV BBDO for Libresse ‘Viva La Vulva’, who also won Agency of the Year.

Irish Agency of the Year went to Chemistry.

BBDO won Network of the Year.

Stink was crowned Production Company of the Year, and Motherland Irish Production Company of the Year. 

Final Cut won Edit House of the Year.

All Gold, Silver, Bronze and Shortlist winners can be seen here, and below details the gold winner highlights.

Two Golds were awarded in film, to BBDO New York for AT&T and to AMV BBDO for Libresse Viva La Vulva.

The Film Craft jury awarded 16 golds. Droga5, Furlined and Final Cut all won for New York Times, both ENGINE and RiffRaff for Women’s Aid, two went to AMV BBDO for Libresse, two to Missing Link films for Philips, BBDO New York for AT&T, Biscuit for Reebok, Electric Theatre Collective for Levi’s, Stink films for Getty, Agile Films for Sainsbury's and tenthree for The Department of Education.

The newly launched Animation jury awarded five golds to BBDO New York for AT&T, Nexus won two for Cheerios and Fender, as did Biscuit who won two for Sipsmith Gin.

In Print/Outdoor, two golds went to Pulse Creative for The Times and Sunday Times and to JWT for HSBC UK which also won gold in Print/Outdoor Craft

In Design, Golds were awarded to Taxi Studio for Carlsberg brand Identity, Rose for Bletchley Park Gin, Droga5 for Coal Drops Yard, and two to Lightscape for the Westport Arts Festival and The Irish National Lottery. Rose also won the only gold in Design Craft for The Fresh Awards.

Digital Golds went to makemepulse for Ubisoft, Publicis Sapient, AMV BBDO for Libresse and BBDO New York.

The inaugural Immersive jury awarded one Gold to The Mill for Fanta. 

12 Golds were awarded in Short Film with winners of Best Short Film under 15, 10 and 5 minutes going to Lucy Bridger at Nice Shirt, Charlotte Regan at Knucklehead (who also won gold for Best Direction) and Jared Hogan at Stink respectively. 

Stink, Academy, Partizan, Cut+Run, ETC, MPC, Friend, RiffRaff and Final Cut all won in Music Video

In the ‘Best New’ awards, Best New Director went to Aaron Dunleavy from Hoi Polloi, best new grader to Katie Dymmock at Coffee & TV and Thomas Mangham at The Mill. Best new DOP to Tom German at Aspect, best new editor to John Cutler at Motherland, best new music composer to Austin Ray and best new sound designer to Simon Bird and Damien Molony at Windmill Lane.

Jury president Mark Denton said: "The Sharks Festival of Creativity is a truly unique experience. It wasn’t just about smiles, the creative work on show was stunning, including two of the best short films that I’ve ever seen. The talks were equally impressive, and the Sharks is definitely the friendliest creative festival in the world with loads of laughter and without even the merest hint of politics or bitterness."

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
LBB Editorial, Mon, 23 Sep 2019 07:33:15 GMT