Hobby home page
Electriclime gif
jw collective
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South Africa Edition

Travis Makes Sensationally Haunting Return With Single 'A Ghost' From New Album

Creative 686 Add to collection

BMG reveals stunning animated video for the Scottish rock band's new single ‘A Ghost’ created by lead singer Fran Healy and his son Clay in isolation

Travis Makes Sensationally Haunting Return With Single 'A Ghost' From New Album
Scottish legends Travis are back and all guns blazing with the first taste of new music from their emotionally charged and deeply heartfelt forthcoming ninth studio album ‘10 Songs’ - out 9th October on BMG.

To coincide with the announcement, Travis have shared new single ‘A Ghost’, which arrives with a stunning animated video directed and drawn by Fran, with his son Clay leading the beautiful cinematography work - all done whilst in isolation.

Frontman Fran Healy says: "The video for ‘A Ghost’ started out as a mocked up picture of me and three ghosts playing the last chorus of the song in a deserted alleyway. It looked cool so I took that image and back engineered a story out of it. Just when everything was ready to shoot, the world went into lockdown, so we had this great song with no way to make a video. Frustrated and in an act of desperation, I decided to draw it. I did a test to calculate how long it might take me. 16 hours for each, 10 seconds of footage. It worked out that it would take around 30 days which landed exactly on the deadline date. So I drew and drew and drew and drew. 2,500 drawings later, it was done."

Healy continues: "One day, I was watching a sequence back and when it got to the end of what I had drawn, it flashed and went into live action. It looked great. This was the moment I realised I could shoot the mock up picture of me playing with my band of ghosts in the alley way. This helped in three ways. One, filming the last 47 seconds would save me 10 days of drawing. Two, I could recruit my 14 year old son, Clay as the cameraman. He has a drone camera so could shoot it remotely and could use it as part of his school video project. Three, most importantly, we could film it socially distant. It was the most bizarre video shoot I have ever worked on. You realise how important proximity is to getting things done when it's taken out of the equation. But we did it and it turned out great. Clay has to wait till we release the song to hand in his video project."

Co-produced by both Fran and Robin Baynton (Coldplay, Florence & The Machine), and recorded at RAK Studios as 2019 turned into 2020, ’10 Songs’ is an album about the way life comes at love and what love does to weather those challenges. It’s grown-up. There’s sizzling synergy in abundance, and many of it’s songs benefit from the almost psychic sense of mutual attunement that comes from being in a band whose line-up hasn’t changed in its entire collective lifetime.

There’s also inspired cameos to be found, including synth work from Grandaddy’s Jason Lytle, lap steel from Greg Leisz (Beck, Emmylou Harris, Bruce Springsteen) and vocals from Susanna Hoffs of The Bangles that came about from a chance exchange on Twitter.

It’s been twenty-five years since the four members of Travis – Fran Healy, Andy Dunlop, Dougie Payne, Neil Primrose – first set foot in a Glaswegian rehearsal room. At various points along the trajectory between then and now, the band have sold millions of albums, they’ve been the subject of the award-winning feature length documentary ‘Almost Fashionable’ and Fran has elicited acclaim from Paul McCartney, Elton John and Graham Nash – all songwriters whose ability to divine a timeless melody out of thin air has sustained them through the decades.

And today marks another new chapter in the band’s extraordinarily prolific and unflappable career. ‘10 Songs’ is yet another body of work that showcases Travis as one of the UK’s finest songwriting exports.

‘10 Songs’ - Track Listing
1. Waving At The Window
2. The Only Thing (feat. Susanna Hoffs)
3. Valentine
4. Butterflies
5. A Million Hearts
6. A Ghost
7. All Fall Down
8. Kissing In The Wind
9. Nina's Song
10. No Love Lost

‘10 Songs’ comes available as Standard CD, Heavyweight vinyl plus Deluxe 2CD and Deluxe 2LP (red and blue vinyl) including 10 Demos. The band’s official store features exclusive merch bundles, cassette and highly limited edition signed TPs. Pre-Order 10 Songs here.
view more - Creative
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.

Production: Gezellig Studio

Director: Fran Healy

Animation: Fran Healy

Cameraman: Clay Kryst

Editor: Sarah Iben at Final Cut Los Angeles

Assistant Editor: Zoe Schack at Final Cut Los Angeles

Colour: Matt Osbourne at The Mill Los Angeles

Colour producer: Blake Rice at The Mill Los Angeles

SFX: Phil Crowe at Parliament Los Angeles

Make up: Nora Kryst

Artist: Travis

Label: BMG

Categories: Media and Entertainment, Record Labels

Agent Elson, Wed, 03 Jun 2020 11:06:43 GMT