Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Wake The Town
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

The VOW | MADE BY HER Announces 2019 Winners



Kim Gehrig 'Viva La Vulva' picks up the VOW Gold

The VOW | MADE BY HER Announces 2019 Winners

The VOW | MADE BY HER showcase of 40 shortlisted works by women directors internationally was presented last night at R/GA for the VOW | MADE BY HER Awards 2019.

The showcase first screened this summer at the Festival des Palais at Cannes Lions, then at Ogilvy’s Sea Containers HQ in London for an Audience Award vote, before a final stop yesterday in New York where announcements of the winners were made at R/GA Hudson Yards.

The judges unanimously voted on the following:


VOW Gold

Kim Gehrig “Viva La Vulva” + “Dream Crazier

Somesuch Co

VOW Silver

Georgia Hudson “Stop at Nothing”

Park Pictures

Music Video - Gold

Autumn DE Wilde  “Big God”

Anonymous Content

Visual Album - Gold 

Solange Knowles  “a Texas Film”


Creative Direction Gold

Quinn Wilson - Lizzo

Good Company




Karen Cunningham – Direction: “Dream Gap”

Biscuit Filmworks

Jaci Judelson – Direction: “Ram”

Park Pictures

Aoife Mcardle – Direction: “Dream with Us”

Somesuch Co

Daisy Zhou – Cinematography + Direction: “Afro-Futurism” + “Aston Martin”

Talent: Janelle Monae

Great Guns

Rachel McDonald – Direction:  “300 Years - New Orleans”

Biscuit Filmworks

Amber Grace Johnson – Direction:  “Free the Work”

Natalie Kingston – Cinematography 

All of the below directors selected for this year’s shortlist created exceptional work – which is why their works made it to the VOW MADE BY HER Showcase.  It was a tough selection process this year and those selected to feature are indeed among the best talents in the industry today

Ashley Armitage | Johanna Benainous | Siri Bunford | Michelle Coomber | Karen Cunningham | Siri Bunford | Mj Delaney | Sophie Edelstein | Kim Gehrig | Anna Ginsburg | Adi Halfin | Michelle Heller | Rose Hendry | Laerke Herthoni | Georgia Hudson | Nina Holmgren | Amber Grace Johnson | Jaci Judelson | Solange Knowles | Kirsten Lepore | Natialia Leite | Alicia MacDonald | Aoife Mcardle | Rachel McDonald | the Mercadantes | Cristiana Miranda | Jenn Nkiru | Lisa Paclet | Elsa Parra | Sasha Rainbow | Dee Rees | Charlotte Regan | A.V. Rockwell | Lucy Walker | Autumn DE Wilde | Quinn Wilson | Daisy Zhou.

This year’s judges are:

Maureen A. Bryan – VOW Founder & CEO 

Nancy Crimi-Lamana – Chief Creative Office - FCB  

Caitlyn grady – Executive Producer Whitehouse Post   

Tamara Howe – Managing Director Viceland  

Tim katz – Managing Director Knucklehead  

Juliette Larthe – Managing Director Prettybird    

Hannah Matthews – Managing Director Karmarama  

Jo Moore Chief Creative Office Engine    

Simon Morris – Global Vice President Amazon    

Siobhan Murphy –  Managing Director Merman  

Helen Powlette – Executive Producer Sky Creative  

Tiffany Rolfe – Executive Vice President Chief Creative R/GA  

Ed Smith  - General Manager Marketing Amazon    

Chaka Siobhani – Chief Creative Officer Leo Burnett    

Sarah Watson – Chairman Global Chief Strategy Office BBH 

The VOW | MADE BY HER Showcase was curated by Maureen A. Bryan.

The Awards evening has been generously sponsored by R/GA with post-production support generously provided by Whitehouse Post.

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
The Voice Of A Woman, Fri, 22 Nov 2019 18:14:35 GMT