Wake The Town
Stuck in Motion
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

The American Advertising Federation Welcomes Eight Individuals into the Advertising Hall of Fame


IBM also inducted as corporate honouree

The American Advertising Federation Welcomes Eight Individuals into the Advertising Hall of Fame

The 'Biggest Night in Advertising' will take place on Tuesday, April 26 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. On that night, the American Advertising Federation (AAF) will induct eight individuals into the Advertising Hall of Fame. IBM will also be inducted as a corporate honouree. Collectively, the honourees represent the 71st Class of the Advertising Hall of Fame. Honourees are selected by the AAF’s Council of Judges and is one of the industry’s most revered distinctions.

Individual honourees will include Annie Leibovitz, renowned photographer; Nina DiSesa, former chairman and chief creative officer, McCann; Richard Edelman, CEO, Edelman; Judy McGrath, former chairman and CEO, MTV Networks; Wenda Harris Millard, vice chairman, MediaLink; J. Melvin Muse, founder and chairman emeritus, Muse Communications; Andrew Robertson, president and CEO, BBDO Worldwide; and Michael I. Roth, retired chairman and CEO, The Interpublic Group.  

“The Hall of Fame is comprised of true pioneers who have made profound contributions to advertising and our communities,” said Carter Murray, chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame Council of Judges. “Their innovative thinking and creativity will continue to influence our industry for generations to come, and it’s a true honour to be able to recognize these legends and pay tribute to their outstanding accomplishments.”

Annie Leibovitz, renowned photographer, will be awarded the prestigious President’s Award for Lifetime Contributions to Advertising by Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief, Vogue; global editorial director, Vogue; chief content officer, Conde Nast.  This distinction is given to an individual whose career is not primarily in advertising but who has proven to have made a significant impact on the industry, nonetheless. The President’s Award is given at the discretion of the AAF Council of Judges; the last recipient was actor Robert DeNiro in 2017.  

Wenda Harris Millard will also be presented with the distinguished David Bell Award for Industry Service, which recognizes extraordinary, unique contributions and service to the advertising industry as a whole. The award is named in honour of David Bell (Hall of Fame Class of 2007), a visionary leader and mentor to several generations of advertising professionals.

IBM will be inducted as the corporate honouree, just the eleventh company to ever receive this distinct recognition.  As one of the world’s most valuable and universally recognized business brands, IBM continues to remain on the forefront of cutting-edge ideas and innovations in advertising while powering new possibilities of decision making, informed by billions of data sources, and enabled by the world's best AI technology. 

The Hall of Fame ceremony is the 'Biggest Night in Advertising' for the industry, bringing together the nation’s top leaders of American advertising, marketing and media companies.

Inductees to the 2023 Advertising Hall of Fame will be revealed later in the year.  Carolyn Everson will serve as the Chair of the Council of Judges.

Learn more here.

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
Elvove Associates, Tue, 05 Apr 2022 13:52:00 GMT