Awards and Events in association withCreative Circle

Stink's Daniel Bergmann Named Chair of the 2019 AICP Show

Production Company
Los Angeles, USA
New awards for best new director and marketer of the year debut as call for entries is officially open

Matt Miller, president and CEO of AICP, announced today that Daniel Bergmann, founder and president of global creative network Stink, will serve as chairperson of the 2019 AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial. 

The AICP Show is one of the central arms of the association’s new troika of awards presentations encompassing the full spectrum of advertising and brand communication in the moving image. This grouping includes the AICP Next Awards and the newly re-branded and revamped AICP Post Awards, formerly known as the AICE Awards. 

“AICP is an organisation that has done so much to bring us together as an industry, and I appreciate the opportunity to serve in this role, said Bergmann. “As the first continental European to be chair, it is one of my goals to share with the production and film community what I have learned from working globally throughout my career. I hope I can bring something fresh and inspiring from my experience.”

“We are delighted to have Daniel serve as the 2019 AICP Show Chairperson,” noted Miller. “He brings so many unique perspectives that reflect today’s craft of commercial filmmaking, having built such a successful global and multi-disciplinary production entity.”

New Developments for 2019

The Call for Entries for the 2019 AICP Show is now open. Entrants can utilise a single entry portal to enter all of the aforementioned competitions For details on rules, eligibility and fees for each competition, visit the portal here. For work to be eligible for the AICP Show, it must have first aired/launched between: March 5, 2018 and February 24, 2019. Deadline for entries is March 1, 2019, at 11:59 pm PST.

Miller has also announced two new developments for The AICP Show: the competition has launched a category for Best New Director and will be naming a Marketer of the Year. Entrants for the Best New Director award must have no more than two years professional experience in commercials/music videos. The work entered must be a commercial or music video that was commissioned by a client and can be for the international market.

The new Marketer of the Year award will recognise the brand/advertiser that has made a significant impact on the commercial industry by bringing together collaborative teams to create marketing communications in the motion image that not only exemplify an understanding of the creative craft but also serves as an inspiration to their creative partners. The AICP Show Curators will determine the Marketer of the Year honoree based on one or more pieces from all category shortlists.

Bergmann started his career in the Prague art world before moving to the US, where he worked as an art dealer and art fundraiser as well as a producer of music videos and live performances, collaborating with the likes of Christo & Jeanne-Claude as well as David Bowie, Primal Scream, and Lou Reed. Upon returning to the Czech Republic he began working as an executive producer, representing directors around the world. He founded Stink in London in 1999 and expanded to the US shortly thereafter.

Now with ten global offices, the company represents an eclectic roster of directors working with the biggest agencies and directly with brands. Stink Studios, the company’s digital, inter-active, and branded content division, is one of the world’s most awarded creative studios. Stink’s work has won every major advertising award, including eight honours in the AICP Show and AICP Next Awards. The company won the first-ever Film Grand Prix for an interactive piece of work, as well as more than 50 D&AD Pencils. Stink Studios has, among other multiple awards, over 20 Webby Awards and is in the FWA Hall of Fame.

Given his presence on the global advertising stage, Bergmann feels strongly that the AICP Show remains unique. “It has such a storied history and a reputation for excellence that is very much ingrained in that legacy. There’s a curatorial approach to selecting the work, and when you attend an AICP Show, you really feel that. You see all of these people you know – your clients, your collaborators, your community –and you know you’re there together to celebrate great work that will be preserved by The Muse-um of Modern Art. That’s an incredible feeling.”

As Show Chair, Bergmann oversees the AICP Show Committee, which is responsible for promoting and marketing the AICP Show, as well as facilitating the judging process and selection of judges. He will also spearhead the selection of companies providing editorial, graphics and music to the AICP Show reel, and serves on the AICP Show’s Board of Governors, which is the final arbiter of the AICP Show, charged with ensuring the quality of the Show and adherence to its rules.

The 2019 AICP Show Committee serving with Bergmann includes:  Tara Averill, Representation; Dana Balkin, Resource; Jeff Baron, Stink; Marlene Bartos, Yessian; Jacqueline Bosnjak, Q Department; Roe Bressan, Navigating; Gay Guthrey, Samuel Guthrey; Anna Hashmi, Corner Shop; Mary Kate Hatfield, MKH Representation; Sasha Hirschfeld; Exile; Jeremy Hodges, Red Reps; Jonathan Jakubowicz, Ziegler Jakubowicz; Becky Jungmann, Mischief; Julian Katz, Mother; Steven Monkarsh, In House Reps; Jill Reehl, GRGD; Luke Ricci, Bullit; Melissa Ross, Melissa Ross Represents; Adina Sales, Blacklist; Rowley Samuel, Samuel Guthrie; Jennifer Siegel, Framestore; and Amy Wertheimer, BBDO.

2019 AICP Show Categories

- Advertising Excellence/Campaign 

- Advertising Excellence/Single Commercial

- Advertising Excellence/International 

- Animation

- Best New Director

- Cause 

- Cinematography

- Concept

- Design

- Direction 

- Editorial

- Humor

- Licensed Soundtrack or Arrangement

- Music Video

- Original Music 

- Performance

- Production Design 

- Production 

- Public Service Announcement 

- Sound Design 

- Student Commercial

- Visual Effects

- Visual Style

Work from Stink Films
Pause is Power
Drive-Thru With Friends ::)
Cactus Plant Flea Market x McDonald’s