Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Wake The Town
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Sophie Muller Directs Music Video for Shakespears Sister’s First Single in 26 Years



Prettybird director shoots the promo for ‘All the Queen’s Horses’

Sophie Muller Directs Music Video for Shakespears Sister’s First Single in 26 Years
Director Sophie Muller, signed to Prettybird UK and US, has directed the music video for Shakespears Sister’s ‘All the Queen’s Horses.’ The track is the first new material in 26 years from Shakespears Sister and their first release since signing to the reformed London Records. Siobhan Fahey and Marcella Detroit formed Shakespears Sister in the early 90s and Sophie Muller shot the videos for the band’s iconic tracks ‘I Don’t Care’ and ‘Stay’. 

During a prolific career which has earned Sophie a Grammy, Brit Award, several MTV and CMT Awards and an MVPA Director of the Year award, she has shot more than 300 music videos and worked with some of the most iconic musicians of our time including; Rihanna, Radiohead, Gwen Stefani, Beyoncé, Bjork, Coldplay, Bebe Rexha, Pink, The Cure, Alicia Keys, The Killers, Morrissey and Beck. 

Sophie continues to work with top talent, directing the next generation of artists, and most recently shooting a music video for Lil Pump featuring Lil Wayne which gained 60 million views, and Blake Shelton, which gained 13 million views. 

She directed the new promo for ‘All the Queen’s Horses’ in Joshua Tree. The music video features a cameo from Morgan McMichaels, star of RuPaul’s Drag Race, and makes light of the feud between Siobhan Fahey and Marcella Detroit, who reconciled their differences recently before recording new material. 

Siobhan Fahey commented on the video: “Shakespears Sister musically is me and Marcy but visually it’s me, Marcy and Sophie. Without her, a big part of the artistry and the story would be missing. It made me cry the first three times I watched it.”

Marcella Detroit added, “I think what Sophie did with it as well was brought a sense of healing, a sense of us making fun of ourselves and being okay with the whole drama that ensued between us. I just think it’s perfect.” 

‘All the Queen’s Horses’ was produced by Nick Launay. It features on Shakespears Sister’s singles collection Singles Party, released on 19th July. The song is one of two new tracks – the other being C U Next Tuesday – on the record.


Music / Sound
view more - Creative
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.

Genres: Music performance, Music & Sound Design

Categories: Music video, Short Films and Music Videos

PRETTYBIRD UK, Tue, 21 May 2019 17:04:54 GMT