Hobby home page
Electriclime gif
IPA Banner Global Recognition
jw collective
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South Africa Edition

Sony Classical Artist Pieter de Graaf Releases ‘Prologue’ Album

Creative 296 Add to collection

Latest project is the composer’s next exploration in his search for musical meaning and depth

Sony Classical Artist Pieter de Graaf Releases ‘Prologue’ Album

Since his debut project, Fermata, Pieter de Graaf has emerged as a new talent on the neo-classical scene. 'Prologue' is his next instalment, full of beautiful piano melody, strings and evolving harmony.

The songs aren’t written in any traditional sense; instead he plays and improvises segments, records them, and listens back over and over before deciding what to use, what to discard, and what to embellish.

He studied at the Conservatory of Rotterdam and also immersed himself in a world of jazz. It was at Conservatory where Pieter learned the art of dedication, waking at 6am to practice and study before class, determined to succeed: “I was, and still am, a perfectionist," he says. His influences – Miles Davis, Nils Frahm, Rachmaninov, Bach, Chopin, Herbie Hancock and above all, Keith Jarrett – allows him to combine easy melodies with more virtuoso passages without losing the essence of each song.

This year, Pieter de Graaf played alongside Ruben Hein, Niels Broos and Mathijn den Dujif at Kytopia (Utrecht) for International Piano Day, where they invited both amateur and professional pianists to celebrate the capabilities and the potential of the piano.

Listen to the full release below:

view more - Creative
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.

Genres: Music performance, Music & Sound Design

Manners McDade, Fri, 25 May 2018 09:44:43 GMT