Wake The Town
Stuck in Motion
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Scholarship Winners Announced as TDC68 Exhibition Opens in New York


Pentagram New York wins this year’s TDC68 Best of Show for identity work on behalf of the International Center of Photography

Scholarship Winners Announced as TDC68 Exhibition Opens in New York

The Type Directors Club, the world’s leading typography organization and part of The One Club for Creativity, has opened its TDC68 Exhibition of this year’s competition winners in New York, as well as announced this year’s Best of Show, Judge’s Choice, top Young Ones TDC Student winners, and scholarship honorees.

The TDC68 Exhibition, displaying this year’s 68th Communications Design and 25th Typeface Design winners, is on view now through August 4, 2022 at The Cooper Union’s 41 Cooper Gallery, located at 41 Cooper Square in New York.

At the exhibition opening, the club announced a number of special competition winners and scholarship honorees.

Top competition winners for 2022

Pentagram New York won this year’s TDC68 Best of Show for identity work on behalf of the International Center of Photography.

Personal Judge’s Choice selections from each jury member were also unveiled.  The list of Judge’s Choice TDC68 winners can be viewed here, and 25TDC Judges Choice winners here.

Young Ones TDC 2022 first-place student award winners in Communication Design were Laura Hilbert and Sarah Stendel, from Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach Offenbach am Main in Germany, who receive a $1,000 cash award.  Second place went to Chuye Chen, Shanghai University Of Engineering Science.

The 2022 first-place student winner in Typeface Design was Neva Zidić from Master TypeMedia, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague.

Beatrice Warde Scholarship

TDC’s Beatrice Warde Scholarship 2022 recognizes a female-identifying college student globally in their next-to-last year of undergraduate study whose work demonstrates exceptional talent, sophistication, and skill in the use of typography across current media.  The winner receives a $5,000 scholarship.

Winner: Doah Kwon, School of Visual Arts. 

Honorable mentions:

Mariko Dreifuss, Fashion Institute of Technology

Zohina Karim, University of Houston

Ananya Mohan, Maryland Institute College of Art

Yuro Oh, School of Visual Arts

Ana Robles, Kansas City Art Institute

Parham Santana, Fashion Institute of Technology

Adé Hogue Scholarship

TDC this year renamed its Superscript Scholarship recognizing BIPOC students studying type design at a US college or university as the Adé Hogue Scholarship, in commemoration of gifted up-and-coming Chicago-based art director, designer, letterer, and avid cyclist Adé Hogue, who died as a result of a riding accident this past November.  The winner receives a $5,000 scholarship.

Winner: Ana Robles, Kansas City Art Institute, who also received honorable mention in the Beatrice Warde competition.

Honorable mentions:

Lillian Ingabire, St. Olaf College

Lisa Wu Mo, Fashion Institute of Technology

Nishtha Nanda, Rhode Island School of Design

Victor Shin, Fashion Institute of Technology

Jabobjohn Vital, ArtCenter College of Design

David Jon Walker, Yale University School of Art

You Zhou, Pratt Institute

Winners of each scholarship also receive a one-year TDC student membership, which includes a copy of the TDC Annual Typography 43, and complimentary admission for all TDC events.

Both the Beatrice Warde and Adé Hogue scholarship programs are sponsored by Monotype.  

TDC Scholarship 2022:

In addition, TDC works directly each year with a number of schools and asks them to identify one student each who will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the organization.  TDC Scholarships for 2022 went to:

Andrius Alvarez-Backus, The Cooper Union

Catherine Currie, Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design

Elliot Jover, Fashion Institute of Technology

Anil (Alicia) Liu, School of Visual Arts

Sarah Ma, Parsons School of Design

Elina Pyrohova, Polish-Japanese Academy (Warsaw)

Anthony M. Sennett, Pratt Institute

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
The One Club for Creativity, Thu, 14 Jul 2022 14:49:00 GMT