Hobby home page
Electriclime gif
IPA Banner Open Doors
jw collective
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South Africa Edition

Saluting the New: The Kinsale Sharks Announces ‘Best New' Awards for 2017

Awards and Events 160 Add to collection

Introduces Best new DOP and Best New Editor accolades

Saluting the New: The Kinsale Sharks Announces ‘Best New' Awards for 2017

Building on the success of last year’s Best New Director, the Kinsale Sharks has expanded this new talent accolade to include Best new DOP and Best New Editor. 

With an explosion in demand for moving image content, the Best New awards recognise how important these skills and craft are in the role of film production, and how the contribution, effort and brilliance of these two particular crafts are integral to the success of any project. 

So, where it has previously been limited to Best New Director, these two vital supporting skills of cinematography and editing have now been added. 

Aisling White, Festival Director added: “For new talent, Kinsale is a wonderful way to create awareness. By promoting excellence to the hottest ad agencies and production companies on the planet, Kinsale provides a wonderful opportunity to get your work under the noses of those important decision makers who are always looking for the next best thing.”

The winners are selected in a unique process which is truly democratic and transparent in the world of award shows. 

The shortlisted work is screened at the Festival on Saturday 23rd September at 10am, where the Festival audience votes for their favourites.  Interestingly, the previous winners were chosen by almost universal consensus of the audience.

Last year’s Irish New Director was won by Benjamin Cleary for his heart-wrenching 'The Stutterer’ which incidentally has also won an Oscar.

Best International New Director was won by Sarah Clift for the hilarious and very on-point ‘La Madre Buena’.

Best New Jury members are Windmill Lane’s Lee Hickey, Hinterland’s Lorraine Geoghan, Panavision’s Adam Coles and Stitch’s Tim Hardy.

Entries close 1st September 2017, with final shortlist published on 10th September.

Enter the awards here.

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
The Sharks, Thu, 27 Jul 2017 09:23:59 GMT