Hobby home page
Electriclime gif
IPA Banner Open Doors
jw collective
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South Africa Edition

Music Duo Addelam Release 'Egress', the First Track from Their Upcoming Album

Creative 218 Add to collection

Colin Alexander and Beni Giles to release full album on 25th January 2019

Music Duo Addelam Release 'Egress', the First Track from Their Upcoming Album

Inspired by the natural beauty of expansive pebbled beaches and famous white cliffs in Deal, East Kent, Addelam’s debut album explores the melodic and percussive capabilities of the cello. Comprising of Beni Giles and Colin Alexander, the duo’s experimental music is recorded in a number of different locations using field recordings, site-specific sounds and instrumental improvisations, which are used to beautiful effect. The name ‘Addelam’ derives from the description of the town and surrounding area as it appears in the Domesday Book from 1085.

Beni Giles comments: “This album grew out of late nights spent improvising in front of the fire. The creaky old house became integral to the aesthetic, as well as the howling winds and crashing sea in the distance. We wanted to make a record that brings the listener deeply into whichever space the piece inhabits.”

Colin Alexander enjoys a varied career as both a cellist and composer playing regularly with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra whilst also having written for the London Philharmonic Orchestra and London Contemporary Orchestra. Colin's music and playing features on Tre Voci's recent release 'Auro' on Nonclassical. 

Beni Giles is a London-based composer and producer who works with a variety of artists across genres. His own works have been performed by the likes of Vickers Bovey Duo, Tre Voci cello ensemble, Kit Downes, and CHROMA ensemble, amongst others. He is a longstanding collaborator with Nonclassical, through which he has received performances with orchestras and ensembles across Europe and contributed to several releases. 

Says Colin Alexander: “Movement and colour, burning and flowing - timbral magnifications of the natural resonances and overtones produced through unique cello techniques, framed in a series of studio and field recordings.”

You can buy tickets to their upcoming launch event (28th January 2019) here.

'Egress' is now available to stream on Spotify and iTunes

The full album will release on 25th January 2019.

view more - Creative
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.

Genres: Music & Sound Design

Categories: Music, Sports and Leisure

Manners McDade, Mon, 17 Dec 2018 10:59:19 GMT