Wake The Town
Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Introducing the Winners of the 2019 MullenLowe NOVA Awards


Jose Miguel Sokoloff, president of MullenLowe Group Global Creative Council and chief creative officer MullenLowe Group UK says this has been the greatest year yet

Introducing the Winners of the 2019 MullenLowe NOVA Awards
MullenLowe Group has announced the winners for the 2019 MullenLowe NOVA Awards, created in exclusive partnership with leading art, design and performance college, Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts London. From 1,300 graduating students, just six MullenLowe NOVA Awards were presented to students whose work represents truly creative thinking and execution. 

2019 MullenLowe NOVA Award Winner: 
Fredrik Tjærandsen, BA Fashion Womenswear, ‘Moments of Clarity’

2019 MullenLowe NOVA Award Runners Up: 
Elissa Brunato, MA Material Futures, ‘Bio Iridescent Sequin’ 

Xiaoying Liang, MA Graphic Communication Design, ‘The Dictionary’

2019 Unilever #Unstereotype Award: 
Sara Gulamali, BA Fine Art 3D, ‘Can You See Me, Still?’

2019 Creative Review Innovation Award: 
Elissa Brunato, MA Material Futures, ‘Bio Iridescent Sequin’

2019 YourNOVA Award: 
Haemin Ko, MA Character Animation, ‘No Body’ 

As winner of the 2019 MullenLowe NOVA Awards, Fredrik took home £6,000, saying he was extremely humbled and grateful to receive the top accolade. “This prize is about talent that’s on the edge of its discipline so it’s an honour to be recognised in that way and be given this platform to connect with other creatives. The prize money will be a great help for my future practice as I’d love to continue making bubbles, and I hope to stage another presentation of my art to show just how much of a statement these pieces can make,” he said.  

Runners Up, Elissa and Xiaoying, and Unilever #Unstereotype Award winner, Sara, received £2,000 each which they will put towards developing their projects further. As winner of the inaugural Creative Review Award for Innovation, Elissa will also receive a feature in the leading industry publication. YourNOVA recipient, Haemin, has been chosen by the public to take home the £1,000 prize.

Jose Miguel Sokoloff, President of MullenLowe Group Global Creative Council and Chief Creative Officer MullenLowe Group UK says this has been the greatest year yet. “Every time we finish judging the MullenLowe NOVA Awards I think to myself ‘this is as good as it gets’, but this time, I really mean it. These brilliant young minds continue to push the boundaries and use creativity to address very real problems in the world. Congratulations to all winners and shortlisted students, good luck for your future endeavours,” he said. 

Professor Jeremy Till, Head of Central Saint Martins and Pro Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Arts London says the judges have once again manoeuvred their way through an incredibly diverse landscape of creative outputs. “In the face of a febrile external world, the students have delivered more provocation than ever before. Once again, really great work has shone through, whatever the discipline it comes from. The judges – and the public – have come up trumps to select work that showcases the dynamics and direction of this great arts and design institution,” he continued.   

The Winner, Runners Up and recipients of the Unilever #Unstereotype Award and Creative Review Innovation Award were chosen by a panel of expert judges while the YourNOVA Award was chosen through an online vote. Voting was open to the public from Monday 24th June to Tuesday 2nd July. 

Follow the conversation with #MLGNOVA

MullenLowe NOVA Awards 2019 Judging Panel: 
- Nathan Cook – Global Director, Advertising Innovation, Unilever
- Carolan Davidge – Executive Director, Marketing & Engagement, British Heart Foundation 
- Laurence Green – Executive Partner, MullenLowe London  
- Rory Hyde – Curator of Contemporary Architecture and Urbanism, Victoria and Albert Museum
- Sid Motion – Founder and Director, Sid Motion Gallery 
- Hannah Scott – Central Saint Martins alumni, visual artist and 2017 MullenLowe NOVA Award Runner-Up 
- Jose Miguel Sokoloff – President of MullenLowe Group Global Creative Council and Chief Creative Officer, MullenLowe Group UK
- Tony Spong – Managing Director, AAR Group
- Rachael Steven – Associate Editor, Creative Review
- Lucy Taylor – Head of Marketing & New Business, MullenLowe London
- Naomi Troni – Global Chief Growth Officer, MullenLowe Group 
view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
MullenLowe, Thu, 04 Jul 2019 18:30:20 GMT