Wake The Town
Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Cam Blackley Appointed AWARD Chair as Mike Spirkovski Steps Down



Cam, chief creative officer at M&C Saatchi, has been an AWARD Committee member since 2016

Cam Blackley Appointed AWARD Chair as Mike Spirkovski Steps Down
The Communications Council has announced Cam Blackley, chief creative officer at M&C Saatchi, as chair of the Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD). He takes on the role from Saatchi & Saatchi CCO Mike Spirkovski who steps down after two years as chair of the Committee. 

Cam, an AWARD Committee member since 2016, said he is proud to have been part of the Committee for three years and is looking forward to steering AWARD during such an exciting time. “I tip my hat to Mike for the great job he’s done over the last couple of years, the future of AWARD is all the brighter for his contribution.”

He adds: “Whilst it’s a privilege to lead the AWARD Executive Committee I don’t underestimate the responsibility of cementing AWARD as the region’s champion of creativity. The shifting landscape of the industry means there’s always more work to be done. I’m up for it and will be supporting progressive ideas from the committee that promote higher standards of creative excellence for future generations of creatives and marketers.”

Some significant achievements for AWARD during Mike’s reign as chair include:
Attracting Susan Hoffman (2018) and Leo Premutico (2019) to Australia as AWARD Awards Chair of Judges with special guest appearances at the AWARD Creative Leadership courses.
Tom Lawrence being announced top student of AWARD School in 2018 and winning a prize to meet David Droga on the 30th anniversary of Droga winning AWARD School
Expansion of AWARD School into regional Victoria and Northern Territory in 2019
Introduction of AWARD School Indigenous Scholarships in 2019
Attracting Facebook as the official partner of AWARD School in 2018 and AWARD Awards in 2019

Outgoing committee chair Mike Spirkovski said it has been an honour to represent the much-loved association. “Looking back I am very proud of our collective achievements, in particular, our work in the areas of diversity and nurturing future talent. This year, AWARD School broadened its program reach, expanding beyond major cities to the Northern Territory, and to regional and rural Victoria. In 2019, half a dozen Indigenous Program Scholarships were also made available to encourage more Indigenous people into the advertising industry.” 

He adds: “I want to thank the fantastic committee for their unwavering support and generosity during my Chairmanship. I’d also like to congratulate Cam Blackley on his appointment as AWARD Chair. Cam is an incredible creative leader and an inspirational industry mentor who will, no doubt, lead the AWARD Committee to greatness.”

Comms Council CEO Tony Hale said he is delighted to welcome Cam as the new AWARD chair, and thanked Mike for his valuable contribution. “Cam is widely respected and a natural leader. I have no doubt that he will continue to drive the AWARD brand and community to champion creativity as the powerful force we know it all to be.”

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank Mike for his tireless contribution. He provided a very positive outlook and was extremely generous in devoting time to AWARD, most recently by being a co-chair at the AWARD Creative Leadership course.” 

Cam has over 20 years’ experience at leading international creative shops including Droga5 NYC, AMV BBDO and Publicis London, and has worked on a wide variety of global brands spanning Aldi, Carlton United Breweries, British Telecom, Cadbury, ING Bank, Tiger Beer and He has received the highest honours at every international award show, including a coveted D&AD Black Pencil and Cannes titanium.

The AWARD Committee members are:

Cam Blackley (Chair)
Josie Burns
Karen Ferry
Loren Bradley
Jane Burhop
Esther Clerehan
Tara Ford
Rob Galluzzo
Barbara Humphries
Jonathan Kneebone
Ant Melder
Brendan Willenberg
view more - Hires, Wins & Business
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
Advertising Council Australia, Thu, 09 May 2019 13:02:43 GMT