Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
I Like Music
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Beautiful Avant-Garde Film for Singer Kazu Makino Tells the Tale of a Giant Exiled to the Sea



The film from Lief director Eva Michon tells the tale of the legend Kazu for her album 'Adult Baby'

Beautiful Avant-Garde Film for Singer Kazu Makino Tells the Tale of a Giant Exiled to the Sea
After releasing her album 'Adult Baby' last year, innovative dream-pop and avant-pop icon, Kazu Makino, has now switched focus and plunged into a new audio-visual adventure alongside director and film-maker, Eva Michon.

Realised by production company Lief - with the support of Ponderosa Music Records - the film captures every song on the recent album and is uniquely combined with the visual element of storytelling. Envisioned by Michon, the film was conceived and delivered on the island of Elba, Italy, where Kazu has decided to spend some of her life.

“‘Adult Baby’ turns and twists its minimalist electronic template in more wayward directions, as sci-fi sine-wave synths and soaring strings underpin her weightless coo. This sad skewed pop has shades of Momus, Sakamoto, L.Pierre and Bjork weaves its magic on the fluttering yet forthright Salty, vocal tapestry of ‘Come Behind Me, So Good!’ and raw emoting of ‘Meo’...” – MOJO.

Award-winning filmmaker Eva Michon created this visual album folk tale to accompany the vastly cinematic music of ‘Adult Baby’, crafting a masterful and equally epic visionary interpretation to the incredible soundscape resulted in a vivid intertwining of sound and vision. 

The director of the avant-garde film said: “In late 2018, Kazu Makino asked me to direct a music video for her forthcoming release. I listened [to the album] and found that the intensely evocative and beautiful music sparked my imagination for not just one, but every song, and these visuals blended into each other with a connective thread.” She continued: “The nine songs seem to have one singular shared goal, and to me, it was suited to a single larger narrative rather than disparate stories.”

In response to being asked why she originally chose Michon to make a single music video, Kazu said: “I felt so comfortable around you and your amazing brain to the point that I started playing all the demos of my solo album to you without knowing that we were going to work together like this. You know the feeling when someone is clearly so much brighter than you but still she appreciates you for reasons unknown, but you gladly accept her friendship? That is the way it is for me."


Production Service
Post Production / VFX
Music / Sound
view more - Creative
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.

Genres: Music performance, Storytelling, Music & Sound Design

Categories: Short Films and Music Videos, Short films

Lief, Thu, 09 Apr 2020 10:39:13 GMT