Hobby home page
Electriclime gif
jw collective
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South Africa Edition

AWARD in Australia appoints The Sweet Shop's MP Wilf Sweetland as chair; Mark Harricks steps down

Awards and Events 146 Add to collection

Harricks was chair for two years

AWARD in Australia appoints The Sweet Shop's MP Wilf Sweetland as chair; Mark Harricks steps down

Wilf Sweetland, managing partner of The Sweet Shop, has been appointed chair of the Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD), taking on the role from Mark Harricks who steps down after two years.

Key achievements under Harricks' leadership include a revamp of AWARD School in 2014, important partnerships with AGDA, Semi-Permanent and D&AD, and an ongoing commitment to tackling the issue of diversity in the creative industry.

Says Harricks (left), who is executive creative director at VCCP Sydney: "It has been a rewarding two years at the helm of AWARD, and I am very proud of the positive steps we have taken, particularly in light of our new ties with a number of major creative organisations, and the important work we have begun in the area of diversity - a focus that will continue. I would like to thank Wilf and the AWARD Committee for their support, commitment and passion. And a big thanks to the Comms Council team!

"I am delighted to welcome Wilf as the new chair. He brings a wealth of experience both as an AWARD Committee member and supporter but also as an accomplished industry player. With more than 13 years experience producing commercials in Australia and around the world, he has great understanding of the local market and the direction for AWARD."  

A longstanding advocate and driver of AWARD, Sweetland previously held the role of deputy chair and has held a position on the AWARD Committee since 2011. 

Says Sweetland, who also sits on The Communications Council's national board: "I'd like to thank Mark for his guidance, knowledge and commitment over the past two years. It has been a privilege to work with him, and I have learned much. This is an exciting time for AWARD, with several key developments the Committee has been working on due to come to fruition next year - I am delighted to be leading us into that next phase.

"I'd also like to take this opportunity to warmly welcome Cam Blackley, ECD of BMF, and Paul Nagy, ECD of Clemenger BBDO, to the AWARD Committee, both of whom bring many years of experience working in some of the world's best creative agencies."

The full list of AWARD Committee members is as follows:

Wilf Sweetland - Managing Partner, The Sweet Shop (CHAIR)
Peter Ogden - Creative Director
Justine Metcalfe - Creative Partner, YOLO
Tim Buesing - Executive Creative Director, Reactive
Niccola Phillips - Head of Art, M&C Saatchi
Simon Jarosz - Creative Director, Mediacom
Julie Faktor - Creative Director, Yonder
Jane Burhop - Creative Co-Founder, Common Ventures
Cam Blackley - Executive Creative Director, BMF
Paul Nagy - Executive Creative Director, Clemenger BBDO
view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
Advertising Council Australia, Mon, 26 Oct 2015 21:56:49 GMT