Awards and Events in association withCreative Circle

APG Planning Idol Finalists Announced

Associations, Award Shows and Festivals
Sydney, Australia
16 strong list, from just under 60 entries



The Communications Council’s Account Planning Group today announces a 16 strong list will progress to the final round of the 2013 Planning Idol awards, which will be held at Sydney’s CBD Hotel on Friday 25th October. 


Just under 50 submissions were accepted and reviewed by the APG Committee, responding to a fundraising brief set by the United Nations to support those affected by the Syrian conflict. The successful 16 will now present their strategies to a panel of APG and UN representatives and Chairman of Judges, Gareth Kay (Chief Strategy Officer at Goodby Silverstein & Partners, USA) in the final day of judging. 


Tolga Balabaner / Mediacom
Sarah Hood / BMF
Andrew Da Silva / Mediacom
Jill Cummins / Clemenger BBDO
Libby Alcock / 303Lowe
Clare Satterthwaite / The Monkeys
Brigitte Bayard / AJF Partnership
Nicky Bryson / House of Brand Research
Natalie Skovron / Leo Burnett
Clara Vincent / The Hallway
Donna Yan / LOUD
Robert Martyn / BWM Melbourne
Tom Walter / The Station Agency
Aneeket Dayal / Tongue
Tobey Duncan / Host
Michaela Brown / Droga5

APG Chairman, Russ Mitchinson, said: “We have been extremely impressed with the standard of entries to this year’s Planning Idol, and it is great to see several students among the shortlist. This is a unique opportunity for young planners to showcase their talent to local and international Directors in the field – best of luck to all of the finalists as they head into the last round.”  

This year’s judging panel includes: 

Gareth Kay / Chief Strategy Officer / GSP (Chairman of Judges)
Russ Mitchinson / Planning Partner / DDB Sydney & APG Chairman
Justin Graham / Chief Strategy Officer / Droga5 & APG Vice Chairman
Jason Lonsdale / Executive Planning Director / Saatchi & Saatchi
Sophie Price / Planning Director / The Hallway
Lucy Cochran / Planning Director / AJF Partnership (Melbourne)
Alex Ryan / Senior Planner / Mediacom (former APG Idol winner)
Catriona Collins / Planning Director / Droga5
Julia Dean / National Information Officer / United Nations Information Centre (ACT)
Howard Parry-Husbands / Managing Director / The Influence Group & Pollinate

Tickets for the award presentation are now on sale, with discounted prices for members. For event details, please see the APG website, here

Finalist Judging & Presentation: Friday 25th October
Location: CBD Hotel, corner York & King Sts, Sydney

Idol entrants – $35
Communications Council members – $45
Non Members – $75
APG Membership: Join up for $120 to be eligible to attend a range of APG events. For further details, please visit here.

Work from Advertising Council Australia