Wake The Town
Stuck in Motion
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

APA Announces Judges for The APA Show 2019


A selection of the industry’s top creative, production and directing talent will be judging the entries, with winners announced on October 17th

APA Announces Judges for The APA Show 2019
The APA has announced its line-up of judges for awards-calendar favourite, The APA Show 2019. The selection of the industry’s top creative, production and directing talent will be judging the entries, with winners announced on the night of the awards at the Tate Modern on the 17th October 2019. 

The 31-strong jury will be tasked with reviewing the best work made in the UK or by UK based APA member companies within the last year. As with every other year, the APA Show continues to reject the general award tradition of categories in favour of a ‘winner-takes-all’ sentiment, where the strongest adverts as a complete piece of work are celebrated.

To tie in with the APA’s trip to Japan earlier this year for the Tokyo London Advertising Forum 2019 (as part of the organisation’s mission to open new markets and opportunities for its members), this year’s judging panel also includes top agency and production talent from Japan.

ECD’s from the top three agencies Dentsu, Hakuhodo and ADK (Dentsu alone owns 25% of the market) are joined by global facing agency W+K and top production company AOI. It’s a fantastic opportunity for the British industry to put the work they’re most proud of in front of Japan’s top creators. Check out the full list of judges below:

Ete Davies - creative CEO @ Engine
Anna Murray - head of integrated production @ Mother
Heather Wright - executive director @ Aardman Animations
Chaka Sobhani - CCO @ Leo Burnett
Debbie Crosscup - MD & EP @ Passion Animation
Sam Ashwell - creative parter & sound designer @ 750MPH
Eve Ashwell - editor @ The Assembly Rooms
David Kolbusz - CCO @ Droga5
Siri Bunford - director @ Knucklehead
Sergio Lopez - EU chief production officer @ Mccann
John Hackney - chairman @ APA
Lewis More O'Ferrall - chairman @ APA
Victoria Keenan - head of film production @ BBH
Gerry Moira - AD legend - Ex-Havas
Nils Leonard - founder @ Uncommon
James Studholme - managing director @ Blink
Yan Elliott - ECD @ The And Partnership
Kim Gehrig - director @ Somesuch
Elise Butt - editor @ Trim Editing
Simona Cristea - head of colour @ Coffee & TV
Shishir Patel - ECD @ Ogilvy
Lisette Nice - founder & managing director @ Factory
Laura Jordan-Bambach - chief creative officer @ Mr President
Trent Simpson - head of production @ Thomas Thomas Films
Marie Owen - CEO @ LS Productions
Ben Tollett - ECD @ adam&eveDBB
Anna Carpen - creative partner @ And Rising
Mike Farr - ECD @ Wieden+Kennedy Japan
Yasuharu Sasaki - ECD @ Dentsu Tokyo
Julie Thomas - chief creative of corporate communications @ AOI Pro Japan

Steve Davies, APA chairman commented: “We’ve once again got a great range of top people from across the industry evaluating the entries, including top Japanese talent. No categories is a unique way of judging the work, as is the night itself, with no awards ceremony or long sit-down dinner! I look forward to seeing what work is celebrated on the night.” 

Sergio Lopez, McCann’s chief production officer for EMEA and APA judge added: ”Connecting brands and people through storytelling is an art. The APA Show rewards all those decisions that make some of those stories formidable. I can’t think of a better place than the Tate to celebrate the best work of the year.”

Entries are open till Friday 26th July 2019 here and are £95 + vat per entry. Full entry requirements can be found here. Tickets for the APA Show will be released in mid-August.
view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
Advertising Producers Association, Thu, 25 Jul 2019 14:24:20 GMT