Gear Seven/Arc Studios/Shift
I Like Music
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

American Marketing Association Announces 2017 Marketing Hall of Fame Inductees



Facebook CMO Gary Briggs among new inductees

American Marketing Association Announces 2017 Marketing Hall of Fame Inductees
The American Marketing Association New York today announced four industry leaders responsible for outstanding contributions to the field of marketing as 2017 inductees to the Marketing Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees are Gary Briggs, vice president, chief marketing officer, Facebook; Jon Iwata, senior vice president, marketing and communications, IBM; Jim Stengel, former global marketing officer, Procter & Gamble and president/CEO, The Jim Stengel Company, and Jerry Wind, PhD, Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School.

These four luminaries will be celebrated at the 2017 Marketing Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, May 11, 2017, 6:00-9:00 pm at the new offices of R/GA in New York. Tickets are available at

The Marketing Hall of Fame was established by the AMA New York to celebrate brilliance in marketing across all disciplines and industries. Each year, the program recognises industry leaders with a minimum of 10 years experience who are making outstanding contributions to marketing and inspiring a new generation of marketers. Criteria for selection is individuals responsible for marketing that have dramatically impacted business results, raised marketing’s profile or moved the profession forward by developing innovative marketing solutions. 

Past inductees include leaders who have transformed the role of marketing: David Aaker, vice chairman, Prophet and professor emeritus, Berkeley-Haas School of Business; Yvon Chouinard, founder, Patagonia, Beth Comstock, vice chair, GE; Trevor Edwards, president, Nike Brand; Bob Greenberg, founder, chairman/CEO, R/GA; John Hayes, former CMO, American Express; Philip Kotler, author and distinguished professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University; Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather; strategist and author Al Ries and Joseph V. Tripodi, global CMO, Subway and former CMO, The Coca-Cola Company.

“We are very proud that the Marketing Hall of Fame has become one of the premier events in the marketing community, and once again we have a star-studded list of extraordinary talents to celebrate.” said Robert Kahn, Marketing Hall of Fame committee co-chair, AMA New York president-elect and founder, Kahn Consulting, Inc. “It’s going to be inspiring to have leaders from IBM, Facebook, P&G and Wharton all on one stage, in one special evening.”

The selection process began last September with an open call for nominations, drawing more than 200 nominations. AMA New York’s Marketing Hall of Fame Committee evaluated the nominations against the inductee criteria and developed a shortlist of the 50 highest-qualified nominees.  This shortlist was reviewed by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, an exclusive, invitation-only body of 200 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the AMA New York Board of Directors, who cast ballots to determine a dozen finalists.

The Marketing Hall of Fame Judging Panel, made up of the leaders of the marketing industry’s top organisations and past inductees, made the final selection of inductees from the finalists list. Panel members were David Almy, CEO, Insights Association; Gayle Fuguitt, CEO, Advertising Research Foundation (ARF); Nancy Hill, president, CEO, 4As; Russ Klein, CEO, American Marketing Association (AMA); Bob Liodice, CEO, Association of National Advertisers (ANA); Manny Schrager, president, Qualitative Research Consultants Association and Earl Taylor, CMO, Marketing Science Institute, as well the 2016 inductees. 

“We are thrilled to see a truly outstanding group of innovative marketers emerge from the Marketing Hall of Fame’s rigorous and democratic selection process,” said Joanna Seddon, Marketing Hall of Fame committee co-chair and president, Global Brand Consulting, OgilvyRED.  “We are honouring industry leaders who are shaping marketing today and inspiring the marketers of the future.”

The 2017 Marketing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on May 11, 2017 at R/GA head-quarters in New York.  Cocktails and food will be served prior to the awards and presentations from the inductees.  From the perspective of their careers, the inductees will offer rare insights and ideas about  how marketing will evolve in the future.  

Past sponsors of the Marketing Hall of Fame include PricewaterhouseCoopers, American Express, IBM, GE, Blackstone Group, R/GA, Twitter, The Wall Street Journal, J. Walter Thompson, BBDO, Ogilvy, McCann Worldgroup, Wieden+Kennedy, OMD | the grid, Columbia Business School, GreenBook, Insight Innovation Exchange, Thornberg & Forester, Verse Group LLC and others.  For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact AMA NEW YORK board member Lee Hornick at

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world., Tue, 14 Mar 2017 13:02:19 GMT